We’re BREAKOUTing outta here!

Today is our last day of classes, and we are wrapping up with one of the most-requested activities of the year: Breakout Boxes.  I’ve found them to be a mind-boggling challenge for students that re-energized a love for learning… and taught content and soft skills along the way.

This semester we did Breakout activities three times in two classes: Spanish 2 and AP Language.  Level 2’s topics were Quinceañera/McFarland USA (some quinceañera activities are adapted from the amazing Martina Bex) ; AP’s were based on the novel La Guerra Sucia from Fluency Matters and season 1 of El Internado (thanks to Dustin Williamson).  I’ll gladly share the materials for the Quinceañera & Guerra Sucia breakouts–just email me with the request.

The activities are challenging to build, but it’s so gratifying to see students diving in and grappling with the adventure.  See some pictures below!

If you are interested in exploring more, check out these links:

Looking for clues

Weighing strategies

Teamwork to select the right answer

EVERYONE is involved!

 

14 thoughts on “We’re BREAKOUTing outta here!

  1. Hashim, Jennifer says:

    Would love to see the Guerra Sucia breakout activity. Thanks so much for sharing – these activities look amazing.

    On Fri, Jun 2, 2017 at 10:02 AM, Aventuras Nuevas wrote:

    > sradibujo posted: “Today is our last day of classes, and we are wrapping > up with one of the most-requested activities of the year: Breakout Boxes. > I’ve found them to be a mind-boggling challenge for students that > re-energized a love for learning… and taught content and s” >

  2. Barbara Tarbutton says:

    Sra. Dibujo,I would love the materials you have prepared for Quinceañera & Guerra Sucia breakouts. How exciting to be able to do something so fun and cutting edge with my students. This will be year 30 for me in the classroom. I love following your blog. Thanks so much for your generosity with your ideas and work. Barbara Tarbutton(Spanish 1 – AP)  

      • Sra. Davis says:

        This sounds like fun! I’d love to see your materials for La Guerra Sucia. I have been considering using the novel in my AP class this fall. Thank you!

  3. dowd124yahoocom says:

    Can you share your breakouts with me? I will be glad to share mine with you too! Can’t wait to see a fresh perspective!

  4. Jill Anderson says:

    This is the first I’ve heard of Breakout Boxes…what an awesome idea! If you have breakout box activities for El Internado episodes, could you share them with me? Thank you so much!
    Jill Anderson

  5. Karen Summerhays says:

    Would love to see your materials for Quinceañera breakout and La Guerra Sucia! Thank you so much for all of your wonderful ideas!!

  6. Sarah Rodenhi says:

    My colleagues and I are loving your blog. We just started talking about putting together a BreakOut Box for a unit on La Guerra Sucia but so far I’m really overwhelmed with the process. If you could share your materials/activity, I’d really appreciate it! Mil gracias!

    • Thank you for your kind words. Breakouts are cool…and overwhelming at times to create. It’s helpful for me to work with someone who can help zero in on details—I’m better at the big picture. I’ll try to get Guerra Sucia stuff together after ACTFL.

Leave a Reply

